Achievement Award Call for Nominations

HPDC Achievement Award Call

In 2012, HPDC has established an annual achievement award, which will be presented to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential contributions to the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC). These contributions may include one or more of the following:

  • conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation of HPDC systems or applications;
  • innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis of HPDC systems or applications;
  • the design, the implementation, and the deployment of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications;
  • the analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.
In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection Committee will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions and a sustained record of high-impact in the field.

Achievement Award Talk

The award will be presented at the 22nd ACM Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC-22) to be held in New York City, USA, from June 17-21, 2013. The winner should be available to receive the award in person and present an achievement award talk at the HPDC-22 conference.

Nominations for the 2013 Award

Candidates may be nominated by colleagues. Self-nominations are now allowed. A nomination (in the form of a single pdf file) should contain the following details:
  1. The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
  2. A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
  3. A description of the technical contributions of the nominee and their significance and impact.
Nominations should be sent to or

Important Dates

Nomination deadline: March 21, 2013

2013 Award Selection Committee

  • Manish Parashar, Rutgers University, USA (co-chair)
  • Jon Weissman, University of Minnesota, USA (co-chair)
  • Dick Epema, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
  • Renato Figueiredo, University of Florida, USA
  • Ian Foster, University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory, USA
The award selection committee consists of the General Chair(s) and the Program Committee Chair(s) of the current HPDC conference and leaders in the field, with at least one member from outside academia. An award committee member cannot be a nominator or be selected as the winner.