HPDC 2017 Achievement Award

HPDC Achievement Award

2017 HPDC Achievement Award

We are pleased to announce that Dr. David Abramson will receive the annual HPDC Achievement Award for his pioneering research in the design, implementation, and application of high performance systems and software tools for parallel and distributed systems.

Dr. Abramson is director of the Centre for Research Computing and professor of Computer Science at the University of Queensland in Australia. He is well known for creating the Nimrod family of distributed computing systems, for pioneering work in grid and cloud economic models, and for creating techniques for the debugging and verification of complex systems. He has been recognized as a Fellow of the ACM, a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, and a Fellow of the Australian Computer Society.

The award will be presented at HPDC 2017 in Washington DC, where Dr. Abramson will deliver a keynote address.

The purpose of HPDC Achievement Award is to recognize individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the field of HPDC, to raise the awareness of these contributions, especially among the younger generation of PhD students, and to improve the image and the public relations of the HPDC community. The award is presented at the HPDC conference, and the winner is invited to give a keynote presentation at the conference.

HPDC Achievement Award 2017

2017 Call for Nominations

Past Winners

  • 2016: Jack Dongarra, for his long-standing and far-reaching contributions in high performance linear algebra and large-scale parallel and distributed computing
  • 2015: Ewa Deelman, for her significant influence, contributions, and distinguished use of workflow systems in high-performance computing.
  • 2014: Rich Wolski, for pioneering and high-impact contributions to grid, cloud, and parallel computing.
  • 2013: Miron Livny, for his significant contribution and high impact in the area of high-throughput computing.
  • 2012: Ian Foster, for his initiative in the creation and development of grid computing and his significant contributions to high-performance distributed computing in support of the sciences.