The 28th International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing

Phoenix, Arizona, USA - June 24-28, 2019

Call for Papers

The 28th International ACM Symposium on
High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing

Phoenix, Arizona, United States on June 24-28, 2019

Sponsored by ACM SIGARCH

Download this CFP


The ACM International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC) is the premier annual conference for presenting the latest research on the design, implementation, evaluation, and the use of parallel and distributed systems for high-end computing. The 28th HPDC will take place in Phoenix, Arizona, United States on June 24-28, 2019 as part of FCRC.

Scope and Topics

Submissions are welcomed on high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC) topics including but not limited to: clouds, clusters, grids, big data, massively multicore, and extreme-scale computing systems. Experience reports of operational deployments that provide significantly novel insights for future research on HPDC applications and systems will also receive special consideration.

In the context of high-performance parallel and distributed computing, the topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Operating systems, networks, and architectures
  • High performance runtime environments
  • Massively multicore systems, including heterogeneous systems
  • Datacenter technology, resource virtualization
  • Programming languages, APIs, and system interoperation approaches
  • File and storage systems, I/O, and data management
  • Big data stacks and big data ecosystems
  • Resource management and scheduling, including energy-aware techniques
  • Performance modeling, analysis, and engineering
  • Fault tolerance, reliability, and availability
  • Operational guarantees, risk assessment, and management
  • Emerging application areas that include cloud/edge computing and IoT


Authors are invited to submit technical papers of at most 12 pages in PDF format, including figures and references. Papers should be formatted in the ACM ACM Proceedings Style and submitted via the conference web site. Submitted papers must be original work that has not appeared in and is not under consideration for another conference or a journal.

NOTE: Submissions to HPDC 2019 are NOT double blind.


Submissions are now open here.


Abstracts due (highly encouraged):January 16, 2019
Papers due:January 23, 2019
Author notifications:March 25, 2019
Camera ready:April, 2019
Conference dates:June 24 - 28, 2019

General Chair:

Jon WeissmanUniversity of Minnesota, USA

Program Chairs:

Ali R. ButtVirginia Tech, USA
Evgenia SmirniCollege of William and Mary, USA

Local Chair:

Ming ZhaoArizona State University, USA

Program Committee:

George AmvrosiadisCarnegie Mellon University, USA
Christos AntonopoulosUniversity of Thessaly, Greece
Ali AnwarIBM Research, USA
Michela BecchiNorth Carolina State University, USA
Kirk CameronVirginia Tech, USA
Franck CappelloArgonne National Lab, USA
Giuliano CasaleImperial College London, U.K.
Abhishek ChandraUniversity of Minnesota, USA
Ryan ChardArgonne National Laboratory, USA
Yue ChengGeorge Mason University, USA
Andrew A. ChienUniversity of Chicago, USA
Peter DindaNorthwestern University, USA
Dick EpemaDelft University of Technology, The Netherlands
David EyresUniversity of Otage, New Zealand
Renato FigueiredoUniversity of Florida, USA
Liana FongIBM, USA
José FortesUniversity of Florida, USA
Anshul GandhiStony Brook University, USA
Dimitrios GizopoulosUniversity of Athens, Greece
Kartik GopalanBinghamton University, USA
Adriana IamnitchiUniversity of South Florida, USA
David IrwinUniversity of Massachusets at Amherst, USA
Adwait JogThe College of William and Mary, USA
Changhee JungVirginia Tech, USA
Jack LangeUniversity of Pittsburgh, USA
Hang LiuUMASS-Lowell, USA
Jay LofsteadSandia National Laboratories, USA
Xiaosong MaQatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar
Arthur Barney MaccabeOak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Carlos MaltzahnUniversity of California, Santa Cruz, USA
Ningfang MiNortheastern University, USA
Kathryn MohrorLawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Dimitrios NikolopoulosQueen's University Belfast, UK
Karthik PittabiramanUniversity of British Columbia, Canada
Judy QiuIndiana University, USA
M.Mustafa RafiqueRochester Institute of Technology, USA
Ioan RaicuIllinois Institute of Technology, USA
Lavanya RamakrishnanLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Bin RenCollege of William and Mary, USA
Matei RipeanuUniversity of British Columbia, Canada
Vasily TarasovIBM Research, USA
Michela TauferUniversity of Tennessee
Douglas ThainUniversity of Notre Dame, USA
Devesh TiwariNortheastern University, USA
Ana Lucia VarbanescuUniversity of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Sudharshan VazhkudaiOak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Rich WolskiUniversity of California at Santa Barbara, USA
Ji XueGoogle, USA
Feng YanUniversity of Nevada Reno
Li ZhangIBM Research, USA