HPDC'13 will have awards in the categories best paper, best poster, and best presentation. The winners will be announced, and the awards will be presented to them, in the closing session of the conference.


Best paper award sponsored by nVidia

The best paper award goes to:

Scalable In Situ Scientific Data Encoding for Analytical Query Processing
Sriram Lakshminarasimhan, David A. Boyuka II, Saurabh V. Pendse, Xiaocheng Zou, John Jenkins (North Carolina State University, Oak Ridge National Laboratory), Venkatram Vishwanath (Argonne National Laboratory), Michael E. Papka (Argonne National Laboratory, Northern Illinois University), Nagiza F. Samatova (North Carolina State University, Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

The other two papers nominated for the award were:

Interference and Locality-Aware Task Scheduling for MapReduce Applications in Virtual Clusters
Xiangping Bu (Wayne State University), Jia Rao (University of Colorado at Colorado Springs), Cheng-Zhong Xu (Wayne State University)

NUMA-Aware Shared Memory Collective Communication for MPI
Shigang Li (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Torsten Hoefler (ETH Zurich), Marc Snir (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)


Best Poster

The best poster award goes to:

P-HGRMS: A Parallel Hypergraph Based Root Mean Square Algorithm for Image Denoising
Tejaswi Agarwal, Saurabh Jha, Rajesh Kanna Baskaran (Vellore Institute of Technology - Chennai)

The other two posters nominated for the award were:

A Framework for Auto-Tuning HDF5 Applications
Babak Behzad (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Joseph Huchette (Rice University, Huong Vu Thanh Luu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Ruth Aydt (The HDF Group), Surendra Byna, Yushu Yao (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Quincey Koziol (The HDF Group), Prabhat (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Security-Aware Models for Clouds
Arnaud Lefray (INRIA-ENS-ENSIB), Eddy Caron (University of Lyon-ENS-INRIA), Jonathan Rouzaud-Cornabas, Huaxi Yulin Zhang (INRIA-ENS), Aline Bousquet, Jémy Briffaut, Christian Toinard (ENSIB)


Best Presentation

The best presentation award goes to:

Paolo Costa (Microsoft Research Cambridge)
CamCubeOS: A Key-based Network Stack for 3D Torus Cluster Topologies

The other two presentations nominated for the award were:

Raghunath Rajachandrasekar (The Ohio State University)
A 1 PB/s File System to Checkpoint Three Million MPI Tasks

Srihari Cadambi (NEC Laboratories America, Inc.)
COSMIC: Middleware for High Performance and Reliable Multiprocessing on Intel Manycore Coprocessors